Articles Blog

Window Tint Medical Exemptions & Waivers

Window tint medical exemptions will let you set up window tint which is darker than normally permitted by state laws. Eligibility for medical exemptions and tint movie darkness rely upon every state. Some states do not permit darker window tint even for medical causes.

We gathered all window tint medical exceptions info in your comfort under. Wherever attainable we included hyperlinks to relevant official web sites, including Division of Motor Automobiles (DMV), Department of Transportation, or Division of Public Security.

Hyperlinks to official medical exemption software varieties are additionally listed for states which offered them. If the types are usually not editable on-line, you’ll have to print and mail them, or convey them in individual to the relevant agency.

Alabama:

Alabama State Regulation Enforcement Company (ALEA) can situation medical exemptions for car house owners or ordinary passengers. Written statement from a licensed physician in Alabama is required. Exemption is granted to individuals with light-sensitive prophyria. Decal with distinctive identification number have to be on windshield.

For extra info see:

Alaska

Alaska allows medical exemptions for drivers or passengers who incessantly travel within the car. Medical exemptions have to be renewed yearly by an Alaska licensed doctor.

For extra info see:

Arizona

Arizona permits medical exceptions. Persons who own or often journey in exempt car can apply for a medical exemption. Medical exemptions permit darker tint on aspect windows and altering tint colours.

Letter, signed by a doctor, stating the medical necessity requiring darker window tint have to be despatched to Arizona Division of Transportation’s Medical Evaluate Program.

For extra info see:

Arkansas

Any medical condition is eligible for window tint medical exemption if attested by a physician. Windshield can have 50%, aspect home windows 20%, and rear window 10% VLT. Medical exemptions are valid for three years after difficulty date.

California

Licensed doctor, surgeon, dermatologist or optometrist can challenge a signed letter or doc stating the individual must be shielded from the solar as a result of a medical condition. Solely clear, colorless and transparent film may be applied. Any such materials or units must not be used throughout night time.

For extra info see:

Colorado

Colorado does not permit medical exemptions for window tint.

Connecticut

Connecticut allows medical exemptions for tint under 32% VLT. Minimal 20% VLT is permitted. Validated type have to be carried in car always.

For more info see:

Delaware

Delaware allows medical exemptions. MV495 type (Software for Medical Waiver of Tinted Window Regulation) is not obtainable on-line. You’ll be able to request the shape in your nearest DMV facility.

For extra info see:

Florida

Florida permits window tinting medical exemptions for lupus, dermatomyositis, albinism, vitiligo, xeroderma pigmetosum or different autoimmune illness or medical situation.

Medical exemption certificates in Florida has no expiration date and is non-transferable. $6 payment is charged.

For extra info see:

Georgia

Georgia permits medical waivers for window tint. State licensed doctor or optometrist should attest that you simply require particular shielding from solar because of medical condition. $10 software charge is charged.

With medical exemptions a minimal 23% VLT is required (with 3% variance).

Medical exemptions won’t be granted if satisfactory safety could be offered by protecting eyewear units.

For extra info see:

Hawaii

State of Hawaii doesn’t at present have any laws permitting medical exemptions for tinted windows.

Idaho

70% windshield and 20% tint on other home windows with not more than 35% luminous reflectance is allowed beneath a medical waiver. Written verification from a licensed doctor have to be carried in car.

Exemptions are given to individuals not automobiles, which means if in case you have an exemption any car you travel in can have 70% windshield tint and 20% aspect window tint.

For extra info see:

Illinois

Medical exemptions are permitted. Drivers should acquire a replica of licensed statement or letter from a licensed doctor. Illinois legal guidelines permit systemic or discoid lupus erythematosus, disseminated superficial actinic porokeratosis, albinism, but in addition permit other medical circumstances to obtain exemptions. Copy of licensed assertion have to be stored in the installer’s everlasting data.

Medical exemptions are usually not given when sunglasses or other protective eye units present enough protection.

Certificate have to be renewed each four years.

For more info see:

Indiana

Indiana permits medical exceptions.  Medical causes have to be attested to by a physician or optometrist licensed to follow in Indiana, and the physician’s or optometrist’s certification of that situation have to be carried in the car. The doctor’s or optometrist’s certificates have to be renewed annually.

For more info see:

Iowa

Since July 2012 Iowa doesn’t permit darker tint resulting from medical reasons. Home windows might have right down to 35% VLT but provided that they have been darkened because of medical condition previous to July 4, 2012. DOT type #432020 signed by a doctor previous to this date must nonetheless be carried in car. If the form was lost The Workplace of Car and Motor Service Providers can concern a alternative.

Kansas

Kansas makes no exemptions for particular tint resulting from medical causes.

Kentucky

At present there are not any legal guidelines or laws permitting particular tint because of medical reasons.

Louisiana

Louisiana permit working a car with darker tint for registered car owner, partner, or family member of an individual who acquired a medical exemption. Medical circumstances you will get exemptions for embrace World Well being Organization International Classification of Disease ICD- 9-CM circumstances albinoism, lupus, porphyria, or different circumstances resembling photophobia.

Department of Public Security and Corrections points a particular decal which have to be prominently displayed on car at all times indicating tinted home windows for medical causes. Medical exemption affidavit should additionally all the time be carried in car.

When you acquired an exemption and installed darker tint on your car, you’re obligated to take away it in case of sale or transfer of auto.

Any exemptions granted in Louisiana are subject to evaluate each three years. Individuals convicted of violent crimes or drug offenses will not be eligible for medical exemptions.

For extra info see:

Maine

Maine permits medical exemptions.

For more info see:

Maryland

Maryland permits medical waivers for window tint. Written certification from a physician licensed in Maryland have to be carried in car.

For extra info see:

Massachusetts

Massachusetts Division of Transportation’s Registry of Motor Automobiles points medical exemptions. Type is accessible under, and have to be crammed and signed by a licensed physician. Exemption can solely be issued by automobiles owned or operated by persons with medical circumstances.

Furthermore waivers are only issued to persons who are permanently photophobic or photosensitive, and when such circumstances cannot be corrected with sunglasses.

For more info see:

Michigan

State of Michigan allows medical exemptions for individuals who are mild delicate or photosensitive. Owner or operator of a motorcar should have a letter signed by a licensed doctor within the car.

Special window remedies put in as a consequence of medical circumstances should not intrude or impede driver’s imaginative and prescient of freeway or intersecting freeway.

Michigan does not specify minimal window tint darkness allowed underneath medical exemptions, nevertheless it should have less than 35% mild reflection.

For extra info see:

Minnesota

Window tinting medical exemptions are permitted. Licensed physician’s prescription or statement have to be in car at all times. This statement must specify the minimum proportion of light transmittance (VLT) required to satisfy the medical needs of the patient.

This assertion should additionally include an expiration date, which have to be not more than two years after the date it was issued.

For more info see:

Mississippi

Licensed physicians can difficulty signed affidavit stating the individual has a bodily condition or illness requiring higher sun protection.

Certificates of medical exemption on a type ready by the Commissioner of Public Safety and signed by the individual on whose behalf it was issued have to be displayed on car’s dashboard.

Medical exemption type is just not offered on-line. Contact Mississippi Department of Public Security for the form or extra info.

Missouri

Missouri Highway Patrol points particular permits for window tint. Written prescription from a doctor have to be offered to your native Highway Patrol headquarters specifying the tint proportion needed on account of an individual’s medical situation.

Window tinting permit have to be carried in car at all times. When the allow is issued, you will also obtain a sticker for lower-left nook of your windshield, and decal which shall be positioned on rear window or rear bumper.

For extra info see:

Montana

Signed affidavit stating reasons for medical exemption may be offered by a licensed doctor,  licensed doctor assistant, or advanced follow registered nurse.

Freeway Patrol or native regulation enforcement company might grant a waiver based mostly on the affidavit. Waiver will include a clear identification of the car, date issued, identify and proprietor of auto, purpose for granting the waiver, date when it becomes effective, and signature of regulation enforcement officer granting the waiver.

No varieties are offered on-line. Once you obtained your doctor’s statement, convey it to your nearest Highway Patrol or different regulation enforcement office for more info.

For more info see:

Nebraska

No medical exemptions are specified in Nebraska statutes.

Nevada

Nevada allows medical exemptions. Maximum of 20% VLT could be permitted.

For extra info see:

New Hampshire

New Hampshire allows persons with medical waiver to have as much as 35% VLT on entrance aspect home windows and windshield. NH laws embrace medical circumstances similar to extreme intolerance to mild, allergic reactions to the solar, melanoma, lupus, porphyria, or some other medical situation which is aggravated by publicity to sun.

Medical waivers once granted are legitimate for two years and could also be granted for 2 automobiles. No fees are required.

For more info see:

New Jersey

New Jersey permits medical exemptions. Windshield and front aspect home windows might have under 70% and 35% VLT respectively. Circumstances embrace ophthalmic or dermatological photosensitivity, persistent actinic dermatitis, photosensitive eczema, and skin cancers having an related analysis of continual actinic dermatitis.

Medical exemption certificates have to be in car at all times. Label with identify of sun-screening materials or product producer, and registration number of facility that put in the tint have to be displayed on windshield and front right aspect window. Tint film installed as a result of medical waivers have to be eliminated prior to sale of auto.

For extra info see:

New Mexico

New Mexico permits unspecified VLT with medical exemptions. Physician or optometrist licensed in New Mexico can challenge affidavit which have to be in car at all times.

New York

Latest New York Well being department laws up to date in December 2017 embrace the following medical circumstances: albinism, persistent actinic dermatitis/actinic reticuloid, dermatomyositis, lupus erythematosus, porphyria, xeroderma (pigmentosa) pigmentosum, severe drug photosensitivity, photophobia, or some other situation or dysfunction causing extreme photosensitivity through which the person is required for medical reasons to be shielded from the direct rays of the sun.

For extra info see:

North Carolina

North Carolina allows windshield tint with 70% VLT beneath medical waivers. Permit could be issued by N.C. Division of Motor Automobiles Medical Evaluation Program for 2 to 5 years. Medical exception sticker have to be displayed within the decrease left-hand nook of the rear window. Failure to show the sticker is punishable by a $200 high quality.

For extra info see:

North Dakota

North Dakota not allows medical exemptions for window tint.

Ohio

Ohio laws do not point out any medical exceptions for window tint.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma laws permit medical exemptions. Exemptions are issued by The Commissioner of Public Safety for car house owners or ordinary passengers. Medical waivers permit further decreasing VLT on rear window and aspect windows, and altering shade.

To obtain a waiver you need to present a written attestation from a doctor licensed pursuant to Section 495 of Title 59 of the Oklahoma Statutes.

For more info contact Oklahoma Department of Public Safety.

Oregon

Oregon permits window tint medical waivers. Decrease mild transmission tint may be put in on aspect and rear home windows of a car registered within the identify of the individual, authorized guardian, or household member.

An affidavit from a licensed doctor or optrometrist, a prescription, or letter on the practitioner’s letterhead have to be carried in car at all times and introduced to cops if asked. This letter or notarized affidavit should state the physical condition that requires darker window tint.

No permits are issued by DMV / Division of Transportation, and paperwork above are enough to qualify for exemptions.

Tint installer must also give you a certificates stating complete mild transmission on windows.

For more info see:

Pennsylvania

Division of Transportation can difficulty certificate of exemption for automobiles where owner or member of household of the owner or registrant who repeatedly drives or is pushed in the car, suffers from a bodily condition decided by the division, in consultation with the Medical Advisory Board, to justify the exemption.

For more info see:

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Division of Motor Automobiles points stickers which have to be applied to driver’s aspect window. Exemptions are issued to car house owners or authorized guardians of persons required to be shielded from the solar. Affidavit signed by a physician or optometrist have to be offered to DMV.

For more info see:

South Carolina

Signed affidavit by a licensed physician or optometrist have to be in car always. Affidavit should state that the individual has a physical situation making it essential to equip the car with otherwise unlawful window tint. Affidavit have to be updated every two years.

South Dakota

No exemptions are specified in South Dakota statutes.

Tennessee

Any individual with a medical situation that is adversely affected by ultraviolet mild might submit a press release to the commissioner from that individual’s doctor certifying that the individual has a medical situation that requires reduction of light transmission in the home windows of the individual’s car.

The commissioner shall submit the certified statement to the department’s medical assessment board for analysis. If the assessment board finds the exemption warranted, it shall advocate that the commissioner authorize the exemption, and the degree of tinting exemption that is applicable. The commissioner shall then provide a certificate or decal, indicating the degree of exemption, to the applicant who shall display it in the motorcar.

For more info see:

Texas

Motorists might request a medical exemption from the Texas Division of Public Security by submitting an software and a signed statement or prescription from a licensed physician, ophthalmologist or optometrist. This assertion ought to state that it’s his or her opinion that the exemption is important to safeguard the motorist’s well being.

With medical waivers mild transmission may be underneath 25% VLT on any home windows besides windshield. Untinted UV filter might be utilized to windshield offered it doesn’t scale back mild transmission more than 5%.

For more info see:

Utah

State of Utah does not provide any details about medical waivers and tint exemptions.

Vermont

Vermont allows medical exemptions. Crammed software with a signed doc by licensed physician or optometrist have to be offered to The Commissioner. Exemption permits have to be renewed every 4 years.

Exemption solely permits the tinting of aspect windows next to driver.

For extra info see:

Virginia

To apply for a medical authorization in Virginia, the individual with the medical situation should submit a completed Solar-Shading Medical Authorization Software (MD-20) to DMV. The appliance must embrace car info and a press release from a physician, physician’s assistant, nurse practitioner, ophthalmologist, or optometrist certifying that sunshading is important for the individual’s health.

The car proprietor will receive a new registration card with “sunshading” printed within the Particular Circumstances area. This registration card serves as verification that the car is permitted to have sunshading.

With medical exemption you’re permitted to tint front aspect windows right down to 35% VLT. Whole front windshield might be tinted to 70% VLT, and prime 5 inches (AS-1 line) of the windshield can have 35% VLT.

For more info see:

Washington

All windows and prime 6 inches of windshield might have higher mild reduction underneath a medical exemption. Written verification from a licensed doctor have to be in car, stating that operator or passenger have to be shielded from exposure to sunlight for bodily or medical reasons.

Washington DC

Waivers are issued within the identify of the individual with the condition and are legitimate as long as the individual has the situation or until the car is bought.

To use for a waiver, the individual with the medical situation should submit a completed Car Tint Waiver Request Type to the DC DMV Inspection Station. Type requires a doctor statement, and authorizes you to equip your car with window tinting movies or purposes that exceed the regulatory restrict as indicated on the form.

For more info see:

West Virginia

WV legal guidelines permit allow medical exemptions for motor automobiles within the identify of a person or individual’s legal guardian who has in their possession an affidavit signed by a physician or optometrist stating the individual has a medical condition making it essential to use darker or more reflective window tint.

The affidavit have to be in the possession of the individual so stricken, or the individual’s authorized guardian, always while being transported within the motorcar.

Wisconsin

Medical exceptions are permitted by Wisconsin laws. A written statement from the treating physician or Christian Science practitioner which identifies the patient, the medical condition justifying the recommendation, whether or not the condition is short-term or everlasting and the car to which the advice applies, together with the make, mannequin, yr and car identification number, shall be carried within the car always.

Exemptions are only legitimate for entrance aspect home windows and should not be beneath 35% VLT.

Wyoming

Medical certificates are issued by Wyoming Department of Transportation. Signed assertion from physician or optometrist is required, stating the medical situation and necessity to defend a person from sun.

Beneath a medical waiver windshield should have over 70% VLT. Different home windows might have a minimum of 25% VLT. Certificates are legitimate for so long as medical condition persists, or till car is bought.

For more info see:


Most states have totally different legal guidelines and laws relating to window tint medical exemptions. Few states haven’t any legal guidelines or do not permit medical exceptions.

In all states the place medical exceptions are permitted you need to provide proof of a medical necessity for darker tint. It is illegal for docs or different medical practitioners to submit false statements, so guarantee your medical situation is legitimate earlier than you request a physician’s assertion or affidavit.